Making the BEST yerba mate

This South American tea-like beverage is, if nothing else, an acquired taste.

Fortunately for me, I acquired it and have been tending my addiction with care for the last six or seven years.

In it’s current manifestation, yerba mate is brewed mainly in my office with four things.

  • electric hot water kettle, mine is an Aroma or something. It’s great. Best present ever! I use it 3 times a day at least.
  • a brand of yerba mate (currently Cruz de Malta but I also really like Guayaki). I keep the yerba mate in a tupperware container with a lid and the scoop.
  • Finum brewing basket, I’m not sure what size it is but it fits perfectly in my Thermos mug.
  • Thermos thermal carafe, I love this mug so much. It’s like the OXO Good Grips only better because you can take it apart for cleaning.

To brew fantastic yerba mate all you need to do is:

  1. Get the tools. Amazon and a credit card can help here.
  2. Wait two days for delivery (you do have Amazon Prime, don’t you?)
  3. Assemble tools.
  4. Boil water.
  5. Put the brewing basket in your mug.
  6. Scoop desired amount of yerba mate into the brewing basket.
  7. When the water boils, wait 2-3 minutes for it to cool a bit. If the water is too hot the yerba mate can get bitter.
  8. Pour the hot water over
  9. Let steep for 5-10 minutes (yeah this is up to your taste but it’s how I like it).
  10. Enjoy!
Step 1 - Get the tools!

Step 3 - Tools, Assemble!

Step 2 - Scoop Yerba Mate

Step 6 - Scoop Yerba Mate

Step 3 - Hot water

Step 8 - Pour the hot water

Step 4 - Brewing

Step 9 - Let it steep

The last step is to savor the weird “mown hay and dirt” flavor and enjoy the awesome caffeine buzz you’ll be getting in ten to fifteen minutes.

Leave a Reply

