Caffeine Acting as a Bron-chio-dilator

When I start my mornings, I like to start with a good cup of coffee on the futon next to my wife.

We muck about on our computers and show each other tidbits from our respective corners of the internet.

A few mornings ago Kit was showing me clothes. She’d show me, I’d nod, and then turn my attention back to my own stuff. A few minutes later she’d show me something else. This repeated a few times until she, exasperated told me, “if you don’t want me to show you this, just say so!”

I was a bit surprised and apparently, I had been sighing or taking deep breaths whenever she showed me something.

I didn’t realize I was doing this but I have known for a while that it feels really (really) good to take deep breaths after drinking coffee. I believe this is due to the bronchiodilator effect of caffiene so I set out to prove to myself and Kit that I’m not being a jerk, it just feels good to take deep breaths when drinking coffee.

In my research (Googling), I found that “Regression analysis revealed statistically significant dose-response relationships between peak increases in serum caffeine concentrations and increases in FEV1, FEF25-75%, and Gaw/VL from baseline values.” That was said here and I’m pretty sure it means “your lungs open when you drink lots of caffeine.”

Another article here says “it is a weak bronchodilator and it also reduces respiratory muscle fatigue.” I’m assuming “weak” means “less strong than super-effective prescribed medications.”

So while ingesting caffeine may not be like having your lungs blown open like asthma medicine, it still has an effect on chumps like me.

Leave a Reply

